top of page

Craig Crushes Competition


At the Episcopal Academy, it is never quiet, even for a friendly game of poker. It was Tuesday, January 10 on a very cold day with snow covering the grass. A group of students from the J-Term Games for Geeks were playing the game of poker on the third floor of the upper school building. The entire school could hear the yelling from the upper school down to the first floor science center.

Every few seconds, you hear a small “oh!” or “Oh my gosh!” from the students. Next thing you know is a senior lacrosse player comes sprinting out of the room. His name was Jake Floyd Jones. Floyd Jones runs out of the classroom while all the other students and even the teachers are yelling in disbelief.

Before all of this happens, Jake Floyd Jones is playing against his fellow classmate, sophomore Tommy Craig. I asked Tommy how it all happened. The first thing he says to me after I ask him about the poker game is “I don’t even know how to play the game.”

Craig’s cards were a pair of 2 tens. Jake Floyd Jones’ cards were 2 kings. Floyd raises all in. He runs as fast as he could and runs the whole length of the third floor. Amazed in what just had occurred. Once he started to settle down, I wanted to ask him what was going on. In an interview with Floyd, he stated “I raise all in, Tommy Craig calls me with ten deuce off. Then he flaps a ten, and turns a ten, and turns me dead. Oh my God.”

Floyd Jones can not believe that he lost. In a short conversation with a lady waiting in the hallway she is very surprised at the outcome. “JFJ, how did you lose to Tommy Craig?”

“God, he is so awful at poker. I don’t know how he beat me. He must be Jesus.”

Jake Floyd Jones thinks of himself as a good to very good poker player, whereas Tommy Craig knows that he is not a good player at it and does not even fully know how to play. He didn’t know that Floyd Jones won at first until Floyd runs out of the room. Floyd is in disbelief for ten minutes before he returns to class.

bottom of page